Lead Me

 Lord, You are taking me down a path that I did not know I would be walking. But I trust in You. 

When I walked into my apartment last week, I didn’t know why I felt unconsciously uncomfortable. It’s a really nice apartment, a big room, spacious kitchen, and modern bathroom. Why did I feel uncomfortable?

I struggled with this for a week, not knowing the root of the pain. And then on Tuesday morning, it hit me like a freight train.

On campus housing at University of Newcastle is entirely co-ed. Not just the floor having male and female apartments, but each apartment is mixed with men and women. And in my apartment, I have one male roommate and four female roommates. Each of them are good people whom I consider my friends, but something about our apartment felt off.

I had the whole morning to myself before classes began, so I prayed and dove into the Word to find a Biblical reason for my affliction. What I discovered God saying cut straight to my heart.

In living with a woman whom I am not married to, I am sending a hypocritical message to the world about my commitment to sexual purity. How can I encourage others in their walk with God if I am not living out what I believe? In 1 Corinthians 10:23-24, Paul writes to the Corinthians about the immorality in the church: “You say, ‘I am allowed to do anything’ – but not everything is good for you. You say, ‘I am allowed to do anything’ – but not everything is beneficial. Don’t be concerned for your own good but for the good of others.” While I live with these women whom I am not married to, I am not illustrating what a Christian man lives for. I am not being a faithful Christian witness.

We as Christian men and women are instructed clearly to leave home and be united to our spouse (Genesis 2:24). When we live with someone of the opposite sex who is not our spouse, the temptation for sexual immorality and sin greatly increases. In 1 Thessalonians 4:1-12, God instructs us to live a holy life that is honorable and pleasing to Him, encouraging others in their pursuit of the Lord. Because of this, I am choosing to pursue a different place to call home while I am here at the University of Newcastle. When I choose to avoid this form of evil, I set that example for others to further pursue the work of God in their life (1 Thessalonians 5:11). When I choose to reflect what the Lord teaches, He may use me as a vessel for His good works on earth.

If I truly call Jesus my Savior, the only one worthy of my life, then I ask Him to rule every aspect of it. This includes how I honor Him with the body He gave me here on earth.

One Comment

  1. Hello Cole,

    You continue to amaze me with your faith commitment to live pure before our Lord, Christ Jesus. I completely understand how this “living arrangement” would cause such uncomfortability for you.

    I think you know the way that the Spirit is directing you. He will make a way to escape through the temptation.

    Rest assured He will provide you a ram in the bush.

    Coach

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

